Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Congratulation to Mr. Sushil Pyakurel of Nepal for winnning 2010 Gwangju Prize for Human Rights

Congratulation to Mr. Sushil Pyakurel of Nepal for winnning 2010 Gwangju Prize for Human Rights from PVCHR.It is true recognisation of non-voilent and democratic peoples' uprising for democracy and rule of law.
Dr. Lenin
Ashoka Fellow
2007 Gwanju Human Rights Awardee
Executive Director-PVCHR

Mr. Sushil Pyakurel of Nepal Wins 2010 Gwangju Prize for Human Rights.

Today at 11.00 AM, in a press conference The May 18 Memorial Foundation in Gwangju, Korea proclaimed Mr. Sushil Pyakurel as the winner for the 2010 Gwangju Prize for Human Rights.

For over two decades Mr. Sushil Pyakurel has been actively involved in the promotion and protection of human rights and democracy in Nepal. He is the founder of various human rights bodies and organizations, including the human rights organization INSEC and the Forum for the Protection of Human Rights, the first human rights organization in the country. He is also a former Commissioner of Nepal's National Human Rights Commission (NHRC). In the course of his long and impressive career in this field he has played a crucial role in encouraging international pressure against the royal regime and in the establishment of the Office of High Commissioner in Nepal. In addition he has represented his country at several international events in Japan, India and the USA. Mr. Pyakurel is the current President of the Accountability Watch Committee (AWC), Nepal, and a member of the Dialogue Group for the Constituent Assembly.

On May 18, 2010 the award will be conferred on a ceremony to commemorate the May 18 Gwangju Democratic Uprising. The prize award includes a good medal, a certificate of achievement and Korean Won 50,000,000.

The Gwangju Prize for Human Rights is an award given to individuals, groups or institutions in Korea and abroad that have contributed in promoting and advancing human rights, democracy and peace in their work. The award is given by the Gwangju people in the spirit of solidarity and gratitude from those whom they have received help in their struggle for democratization and search for truth.

The Gwangju Prize is administered by The May 18 Memorial Foundation, a non-profit organization established on August 30, 1994. It was organized by surviving victims of the 1980 Gwangju Democratic Uprising, the victims' families, and the citizens of Gwangju. The Foundation aims to commemorate and continue the spirit of struggle and solidarity of the May 18 Uprising, contribute to the peaceful reunification of Korea, and work towards peace and human rights throughout the world. Since its establishment, the Foundation has carried out numerous projects in varying fields, including organizing memorial events, establishing scholarships, fostering research, disseminating public information, publishing relevant materials, dispensing charity and welfare benefits, building international solidarity, and awarding the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights.

No comments: